concept idea continued

I’ve been thinking about what was touched on in class today. Particularly the idea of the new ‘YouTube aesthetic’ and how if it is on the internet it doesn’t have to (and perhaps shouldn’t) resemble ‘Hollywood’ films or ‘traditional’ films. Maybe the idea I posed is too ‘classical’. Liam says that due to the poor quality of his camera he is thinking about doing a ‘documentary’ which makes me question my idea. Is it too contrived? Why though are ‘hi’ aesthetics associated with fictional films, and documentaries with the ‘low’? Personally I am very skeptical about documentaries and I believe in some ways, fictional films are more revealing and allow the viewer greater autonomy in the viewing process. Is this something that my film will try to portray? At least if I present a series of events or images in the way I intend (see previous post), then the viewer will, like viewing YouTube videos, be able to either choose to engage with it or not. In saying that, as the filmmaker, my intention is for audience to be engaged, is it not?